Five Outstanding Women Honored at Girl Scouts of Southeast Florida Emerald Awards

Michelle Oyola McGovern, Lindsay Autry, Sarah A. Alsofrom, Lieutenant Patricia R. Brown, and Meredith Trim received recognition during the virtual award ceremony

Emerald Honorees 2020_Horizontal Image_From Left MM, LA, SA, PB, MT

Girl Scouts of Southeast Florida recognized five Palm Beach County women at the seventh annual Emerald Awards: Unleash Your Inner G.I.R.L. virtual celebration on September 12. Originally scheduled as a gala on April 18 at The Four Seasons in Palm Beach, Girl Scouts had to postpone and transition the event to a virtual platform due to the coronavirus pandemic.

The women honored exemplify strong leadership qualities in their respective fields and serve as significant role models for young women in the community. Four of the women were honored for embodying the characteristics of today’s G.I.R.L. (Go-Getter, Innovator, Risk-Taker, and Leader). They were:

  • Michelle Oyola McGovern, Director of Government & Community Relations at Baptist Health South Florida – Go-Getter Award
  • Chef Lindsay Autry, Chef/Partner of THE REGIONAL Kitchen & Public House – Innovator Award
  • Sarah A. Alsofrom, Director of Community Relations at GL Homes – Risk-Taker Award
  • Lieutenant Patricia R. Brown, Palm Beach County Sheriff’s Office – Leader Award

Additionally, Girl Scouts of Southeast Florida honored Meredith Trim, President of Ventus Charitable Foundation, for the Lifetime Achievement Award for Philanthropy. This award highlights a woman whose generosity is evident through the personal time and financial support she dedicates to programs and organizations that contribute to the well-being of the community. She embodies the spirit of giving in all aspects of her personal and professional life and strives to leave a legacy of philanthropy for future generations.

The event, hosted on the Girls Scouts Facebook page, still featured many of the elements of an in-person event including a silent auction, Girl Scouts sharing their stories, and elegantly dressed participants and honorees.

The Emerald Awards honorary event chairs were Geri Emmett, Suzi Goldsmith, Donna Mulholland, Lois Pope and Pamela M. Rauch. The event committee chair was Virginia Spencer and joining her on the Emerald Awards host committee was Sally Byrd, Susan D. del Portal, Carol Dubinsky, Sarah Emmett, Terry Gearing, Lynn Kirker, Anne LoGiudice, Amber O’Sullivan, Jennifer Rocha-Donley, MaryAnn Stetson, Ofelia Utset, Michele Vogal, and Marcia Wolf.

Facebook Comments