Palm Beach County Medical Society

Palm Beach County Medical Society‘s 11th Annual Heroes in Medicine Awards will be held on Thursday, May 8. These prestigious awards honor individuals and organizations throughout Palm Beach County that use their skills and resources in the field of health care to provide outstanding services for the people of the local, national and global communities. In addition to properly recognizing Heroes in Medicine, this initiative serves to encourage and stimulate future heroes by promoting a commitment to community service. The event will be held at the Kravis Center, Cohen Pavilion – 701 Okeechobee Blvd., West Palm Beach, at 11 a.m. 

This year’s luncheon, themed “Heroes Goes Hollywood,” is chaired by Greg Quattlebaum and co-chaired by Christine Brooks. The event will feature a walk on the red carpet, silent auction, favorite Hollywood picks by the “Medical Academy” and more. Dr. and Mrs. Alan Pillersdorf are the honorary hosts, and Rendina Companies is the Grand Benefactor. Liz Quirantes of CBS News 12 will serve as mistress of ceremonies. Palm Beach Illustrated is the exclusive magazine sponsor. Tables and tickets are available. For more information, contact Lauren Tome at 561-433-3940 x13 or or visit

Proceeds from this event benefit Project Access, a physician-led system of volunteer physician care, hospital care, diagnostic services, and medication assistance for the low-income, uninsured residents of Palm Beach County.



561-433-3940 |


The 2014 Heroes in Medicine finalists are:

Sally D. Chester, RN

Life Time Achievement
James W. Lea, MD

Bruce Rendina Legacy Award 
Richard Rendina

Bruce Rendina Professional
Todd Blum; Thomas Cleare, PhD; John Couris

Community Outreach Hero
Glades Initiative, Inc.; Daniel Ramos-Pat Reeves Village; 
The Children’s Healing Institute; Charisse Van Biesen-The Lord’s Place

Healthcare Educator
Miguel Benavente, MD; Bradley S. Feuer, DO, JD; Mario Jacomino, MD

Health Care Innovator
Brian Bernick, MD; Ronald Davis, PhD; Jay Feinberg; Fernando Recio, MD

Provider Non-Physician
Rodney Dunetz, AP, DOM, Dipl. AC.; Mary Jean Houlahan, RN; 
Angelica Ligas, RN

Nancy Hogan

Physician International
Kenneth Jeffers, MD; Clifford Salinger, MD; John Strasswimmer, MD

Physician National/Local
Robert Acosta, MD; Larry Bush, MD; Jeffrey Davis, DO; Michael Gervasi, DO;  Faustino Gonzalez, MD

Stephanie England; Cindy Flores-Liang; Nathaniel Forman; Cy-Anne Small

Facebook Comments